V.W. and Loreta Kelley Scholarship

The V.W. and Loreta Kelley Alumni Endowed Scholarship is awarded annually to two graduating seniors for graduate study.

The scholarship was named for the late V.W. Kelley ('40), former president of the Alumni Association, and his wife Loreta (Lewis '39) Kelley, assistant professor emerita of home economics and family studies.

The recipients of the V.W. and Loreta Kelley Scholarship are selected by the Alumni Advisory Board. Selection criteria are as follows:

  • Must be a graduating senior who has rendered outstanding service to fellow students and to Abilene Christian University
  • Must be of the highest moral character
  • Must have distinguished himself/herself in his/her chosen academic discipline
  • Must be attending graduate school at ACU.

Graduating seniors can apply for the award here.

Important dates:

  • Applications for 2016-17 close at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 8.
  • A separate letter of recommendation from an ACU faculty or staff member also is due Wednesday, Feb. 8.
  • Applicants will be notified Friday, Feb. 10, whether they are a finalist.
  • Finalists will be interviewed by the Alumni Advisory Board on Saturday, Feb. 18.


Past recipients of the V.W. and Loreta Kelley Scholarship: 

2016    Amy Grotjohn and Bre Heinrich

2015    Jenna Kasprzyk and Elizabeth Watters

2014    Hunter Haley and Lauren Towe

2013    Blaine Smith and Marissa Marolf

2012    Jonathan Holmes and Noemi Palomares

2011    Matthew Hale and Bonnie Sullivan

2010    John Ashinhurst and Brittany Brumit

2009    Jeremy Tatum and Charrelle Coates

2008    Austin Basye and Whitney Kettren

2007    Matt Wickes and Abby Loe

2006    Alex Castro and Meg Goggin

2005    Brandon Osborne and Elizabeth Alvarez

2004    Jim Drachenberg and Kasey Lane

2003    Lee Nault and Laura Zengerle

2002    Jeff Patty and Jennifer Thigpen

2001    John Vann and Lauren Webster

2000    Andrew Babcock and Rebecca Bubert

1999    Anthony Todd and Christie Kershbaum

1998    Brian Cavitt and Mandy Scudder

1997    Rob Conner and Ann Francis

1996    John Siburt and Susan Hinds

1995    Brian Hughes and Ghada Al-Atrash

1994    Bryan McCaleb and Michelle Adams

1993    Lance Caughfield and Patrice Natalicchio

1992    Hunter Cooley and Kimberly Meador

1991    Michael Martin and DeeAnn Comolli Reynolds

1990    Don Heyen and Leslie Wilborn

1989    Lance McAlister and Julie Fitzpatrick

1988    Duane Young and Robyn Reed

1987    Todd Coleman and Elaine Rainwater

1986    Jim Cawthon and Holly Hill

1985    Scott Fennel and Amy Adler

1984    Gary Fleet and Leigh Ann Manis

1983    Clay Hale and Sharon Johnston

1982    Jimmy Cawyer and Rhonda Staples

1981    John Tyson and Nita Parker

1980    Guy "Mojo" Lewis and Melissa Daniels

1979    Doug Williams and Melinda Scruggs

1978    Dickie Porche and Becky Boone

1977    Steve Green and Diane Church

1976    Steve Allison and Judy Anderson

1975    Greg Stirman and Terri Sue Kelley